Become a Medical Marijuana Doctor in Florida

Are you ready to offer your patients a natural and holistic alternative to modern pharmaceuticals? Doctors in Florida who wish to begin a medical marijuana practice must go through the proper training before the begin writings medical marijuana recommendations for patients. In order to get a license to recommend cannabis as medicine, you must follow the steps required by the state of Florida.

Who is a qualified physician to recommend marijuana in Florida?

An active, unrestricted license under 458 or 459 Complies with education requirements of 381.986(3)

How to become a physician qualified to recommend medical marijuana in Florida?

-Have an active/unrestricted license as a osteopathic physician or medical doctor in Florida. -Complete the 2-hour course followed by the exam offered by the Florida Medical Association or Florida Osteopathic Medical Association, depending on your license. -If your physician took the course that was previously offered, they must take the new 2-hour course on or before December 2017, to remain a qualified physician. -Your physician must retake the course each time they renew their license if you wish to remain a qualified physician to order medical marijuana and low-THC cannabis. -A physician is ineligible to become qualified: -Physicians holding a restricted license -Physicians employed by an MMTC or Marijuana Testing Laboratory, this includes physicians that are medical directors for those companies. -Physicians that have any direct/indirect in economic interest in an MMTC or Marijuana Testing Laboratory. The Office of Medical Marijuana Use will publish a list of all physicians meeting these qualifications on its website as required under 381.986(10)(e). This list is published regardless of whether the physician has a profile in the Medical Marijuana Use Registry or has placed, or intends to place, any orders.

What is a physician medical marijuana certification?

-A qualified physician authorization for a qualified patient to receive medical marijuana and a medical marijuana delivery device from an approved Medical Marijuana Treatment Center in Florida.

How do you know if a patient is qualified for Florida’s medical marijuana program?

-They are a Florida resident. -Or they are a seasonal resident of Florida (residing in the state for at minimum 31 consecutive days each year, they maintain a temporary residence in the state, they return to the state in which they live in once per year, and that they are registered to vote or pays taxes in another state/jurisdiction) -The physician diagnosis the patient with one of the following qualifying conditions:

  • Cancer
  • Epilepsy
  • Glaucoma
  • Positive status for human immunodeficiency virus
  • Acquired immune deficiency syndrome
  • Post-traumatic stress disorder
  • Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
  • Crohn’s disease
  • Parkinson’s disease
  • Multiple sclerosis
  • Medical conditions of the same kind or class as or comparable to those listed above
  • A terminal condition diagnosed by a qualifying physician and confirmed by a second physician
  • Chronic nonmalignant pain – pain caused by a qualifying medical condition, or that originates from a qualifying medical condition above and persists beyond the usual course of that qualifying medical condition.

-Prerequisites to physician certification: -Physical exam while present in the same room as patient -Assessment of patient’s medical history -Diagnose the patient with one of the qualifying conditions -Determine the medical use of marijuana and that it likely outweighs health risks and document that in record. -For patients under 18 years of age, have a second physician agree in writing that medical use of marijuana likely outweighs the health risks for that minor patient. -Determine if the patient is pregnant. If the patient is pregnant, it must be documented in that patient’s medical record and only low-THC -cannabis certification can be given to that patient during the pregnancy. -Confirm the patient does not already have an active certification through another physician . -Physician must register as the physician issuing the certification to that qualified patient in the registry. -Obtain voluntary and informed written consent each time a physician certification is provided to the patient and keep that with the patient’s medical record. The approved informed consent form containing all legal requirements is available from the Board of Medicine and Board of Osteopathic Medicine.

How to issue a physician’s medical marijuana certification:

-After physician registers as the patient’s certified physician in the registry, the physician can enter the contents of the certification into the registry. -The contents include: the qualifying condition of the patient dosage of medical marijuana not to exceed the daily dose amount determined by Department rule the amount of medical marijuana or low-THC cannabis authorized for the qualified patient the form of medical marijuana or low-THC cannabis authorized for the qualified patient the medical marijuana delivery devices the patient needs for the medical use of the physician’s certification -The physician can place no more than 3 orders for a maximum of 70-days per order as part of a physician certification for the qualified -patient. What a physician must do after issuing the first physician certification: -If the physician wishes to make a change to the original certification for the patient, must update the registry within 7 days of making that change. -For more certifications for the qualified patients this must occur atleast once every 30 weeks: -Conduct an in person physical exam while in the same room as the qualified patient -Determine if the patient still meets all the requirements to be issued a physician certification as the physician determined at the time of the first certification. -Identify and document in the medical record for the patient whether the patient experienced an adverse drug interaction with any prescription or nonprescription medication with medical marijuana. -Identify and document in the medical record for the patient whether the patient experienced a reduction in use of, or dependence on, other types of controlled substances. -Submit a report to the Department including the information obtained from the patient regarding adverse reactions or reduction in use or dependence on controlled substances as a result of the patient’s medical use of marijuana. -If physician no longer recommends the use of medical marijuana, they must deactivate the patient’s registration. -Submit to the Board within 14 days after issuing the certification for the qualified patient documentation required under 381.986(4)(b). — -The Board of Medicine and the Board of Osteopathic Medicine have created a form that is available for qualified physicians to use and submit to the Boards containing all of the required documentation.

Pin It on Pinterest